Photo courtesy

Photo courtesy

Call for Entries: WMR Honor Awards

The WMR Honor Awards Call For Entries is now open!  

Important Dates

Call for Nominations open: June 1, 2019

Entry Submission Deadline: July 8, 2019

Jury deliberation completed by: July 26, 2019

Honorees notified: August 1, 2019

For more information, including the full Call for Entries, Submission Requirements and forms click here: WMR Honor Awards

 2019 AIA WMR Design Awards


  • April 15 – May 24: Call for Entries

  • May 24: Deadline for Entry Forms and Fees

  • June 21: Design Submittals Due

  • Week of July 8: Jury Meets

  • First Week of August: Winners Notified

  • September 20: WMR Design and Honor Awards Celebration

For more information, including the Call for Entries, Submission Requirements, and Forms, click here: WMR Design Awards

Congratulations to the
2019 WMR Fellows!

Congratulations to the 2019 College of Fellows from the Western Mountain Region!

AIA Arizona:

  • Patrick Panetta, FAIA

  • Constantine D. “Dino” Sakellar, FAIA

AIA Nevada:

  • Craig S. Galati, FAIA

  • Thomas J. Schoeman, FAIA

AIA New Mexico:

  • Tina Marie Reames, FAIA, LEED AP

2019 WMR Leadership Summit

On January 25 - 26, leaders from Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Utah & Wyoming gathered in the offices of Dekker/Perich/Sabatini in Albuquerque, New Mexico to discuss the needs of architects in the Western Mountain Region. It was a great series of meetings and we look forward to a year of working together!


AIA Western Mountain Region
Conference Report

Unable to attend this year’s Western Mountain Region Conference held at the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort in Tucson, Arizona?

Here’s just a few things you missed . . .

Congratulations to our newly elected Western Mountain Region | Regional Director: Dino Sakellar, AIA (AIA Arizona)
He was elected for a three year term running from 2019 through 2021.

Congratulations to our newly elected Western Mountain Region | Treasurer: Mark Ryan, AIA (AIA Nevada).
Mark was elected for a two year term running from 2019 through 2020.

Lesson’s Learned

Building on what was completed at the 2017 AIA Arizona Conference, 5 projects were selected from Arizona, Colorado, Nevada and Utah to share the lessons learned from the excellent design work completed by the design and construction team. Take a look at the videos presented at the conference below (to be posted soon).

Thank you to all who were involved with the planning committee, and especially the staff at AIA Arizona, to make such a fantastic conference for all who attended.

We are now looking forward to next year’s WMR Conference to be held at the Snow King Resort in Jackson, Wyoming from September 19 - 21.

For sponsorship or presentation opportunities, please contact Susan at AIA Wyoming: susanm (at) aia-wyoming (dot) org


We are excited to congratulate Tina Litteral, Hon. AIA, CAE from AIA Arizona as the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award from the American Institute of Architects Council of Architectural Component Executives!! It is a well-deserved honor and we are all blessed to have Tina in the Western Mountain Region. Take a look at the recognition she received!

09-CACE Leadership Award (002).png

Congratulations to

Michelle Acosta, AIA, and

Korey White, AIA,

for their recognition with the

AIA Young Architect Award!


2_Katie Photo copy (square).jpg

Behtune Fellowship


Katie, Wilson, AIA

Congratulations to the AIA WMR's Past Regional Director, Katie Wilson, AIA on their recognition as a recipient of the Louise Blanchard Bethune Fellowship Medal.

Reserved for retiring members of the Strategic Council, the Louise Blanchard Bethune Fellows serves to recognize their service and signify their continued commitment to the mission of the AIA and Strategic Council. This honor, similar in spirit and significance to the Richard Upjohn Fellowship, symbolizes a high level of dedication to the advancement of the profession of architecture and celebrates the distinctive role of Strategic Council leadership in the profession. Louise Blanchard Bethune Fellows act as advisors and ambassadors to the AIA beyond their term of service on the Strategic Council.

The Louise Blanchard Bethune Fellowship is named for the first American woman recognized as a professional architect and the first female to be elevated to Fellowship in the AIA. An architectural vanguard, Bethune ushered in a new future for the profession and society. She challenged the status quo of the profession and set new standards for architectural practice.


Stuart Coppedge.jpg

Stuart Coppedge, FAIA

Congratulations to AIA WMR's Past Regional Director and AIA 2016-2017 National Treasurer Stuart Coppedge, FAIA, on his distinct recognition as a recipient of the Richard Upjohn Fellowship Medal. This award is bestowed upon those who have served the profession of Architecture through service on the National AIA Board of Directors.


This is the online home of the American Institute of Architects Western Mountain Region.